Kalin Award

This award was established in 1981 by a grant from Dr. Robert Kalin of Florida State University, a former president of Mu Alpha Theta.  Dr. Kalin was a nationally recognized mathematics educator and was one of Mu Alpha Theta’s strongest supporters. The Mu Alpha Theta Educational Foundation continues to support the Kalin Award.

To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be representative of all student members who excel in mathematics and provide notable service to Mu Alpha Theta. The nominee must be graduating from high school and planning to begin college studies in the year the award is given. Each chapter is allowed to nominate one Mu Alpha Theta member for the award. The sponsor of the chapter will determine how the chapter's nominee is selected, unless the sponsor is related to a possible nominee.

The winner will receive $4,000 and a distinguished plaque.  The winner may take the award as a cash prize or have it sent to his/her prospective college as a scholarship. The winner’s school will also receive a $1,000 chapter grant.

Top candidates for the award must attend our national convention in July with their chapter and will be interviewed in person by our governing council. Interviewed finalists who do not win the award will each receive a $500 prize.

Download the 2020 Kalin Award application here:

All materials should be submitted and mailed with a postmark date of February 1, 2020, to:

Mu Alpha Theta
Scholarship Committee
c/o University of Oklahoma
3200 Marshall Ave, Suite 190
Norman, OK 73019

In Partnership With

Mu Alpha Theta

National High School & Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society

Socialize with us

Contact us

Mu Alpha Theta
c/o University of Oklahoma
3200 Marshall Ave, Ste 190 Norman, OK 73019

Ph 405-325-0144
Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm CT

Design by Design Thumbprint.